Yahoo Mail and IM on Nokia phones

Yahoo and Nokia have entered into partnership to provide Yahoo Mail and Messenger service to Nokia users. Besides the email and IM capabilities, customers having Nokia phones based on the Series 40 platform will also be able to synchronize their Yahoo contacts, tasks and calendar on the PC and phone. Nokia phones that will initially support these Yahoo services include Nokia 6300, 5300 XpressMusic and 5200.

I think the email part of the service will operate in a similar manner to Blackberry messaging platform where new messages are stored locally on the  device to enable offline access to messages.

Yahoo has been pretty active in the mobile area lately setting up partnerships and launching products to gain early ground. Among other deals, Yahoo had recently launched it’s advertising platform to deliver ads on Yahoo Mobile and signed agreement with DoCoMo to provide search capabilities to it’s mobile customers.

 

22 Responses to “Yahoo Mail and IM on Nokia phones”

  1. StartupSquad » Blog Archive » MySpace mobile for Cingular mobile soon Says:

    […] Everyone seems to be gearing up for the mobile space. We already have couple of deals in the video space done by Youtube and Revver. Besides this, Bebo is teaming up with O2 in UK. Google is laying out plans for its Web OS with Orange. Microsoft is working on its own deals and launching products for mobiles. Yahoo is working towards mobile ads and other services. Besides this we number of startups looking to steal customer attention on the tiny screen including 4info, and Admob. […]

  2. James lak Says:

    I hav been using yahoo mail thru my phone for 4 months. But the new yahoo mail beta is failing me. When logging in, its tell me no gateway reply and i hav not been able to check my mail. Im in uganda. I advise the older version be brought back, or new one be revised.

  3. Eugene Says:

    My sentiments are similar to those of James. Im from Kenya and have used Yahoo Mail on my phone previously since 2006. But yahoo mail beta has always failed me with the message: “no gateway reply”. Yahoo needs revert to the older version until they can sort out all the issues with Beta..

  4. Becky Says:

    Its so annoying.,this no gateway reply thing! Ive bn accessing my mail without any problem, mail beta is not working, Pls help, meanwhile revert to the previous mail access route

  5. Azam Says:

    Please help me how I can check my Yahoo Emails in this New Yahoo Beta thing through my Nokia 3100 cell phone. Thanks a lot.

  6. Azam Says:

    Is there any way that I could check my Yahoo Emails on my NOKIA 3100 Phone?

  7. Grace Lule Says:

    I need to read my email using my mobile phone.

  8. Yugis Says:

    When I try to my my email using wagon mail beta it replies me no gateway reply!
    I think the older version of yahoo mail should be reused.

  9. Yugis Says:

    When I try to my my email using wagon mail beta it replies me no gateway reply!
    What will I do to check my mail.

  10. Jane Says:

    Why can I browse my mail using my Nokia 6300. For the last four months I used the phone without any problem but for the last two weeks I have been having problems on login in as am getting “No gateway reply” what could be the problem and yet am able to visit other site. Can someone explain to me am bored coz I cant check my mail. JK Kenya

  11. Ric Says:

    http://www.tvacaboparatodos.net

    Tv a cabo de graça na sua TV e Computador
    Saiba como ter banda larga e telefone de graça
    Limpe seu nome no spc e serasa
    Aprenda como não pagar multas de trânsito!!!
    Esquema de desbloqueio para todos os decodificadores de A a Z
    Vision dv9805, Tocom 5507 / 5508, Jerrold, Sky com todos os canais liberados
    Esquema da Plaquinha Mágica Star 2.2

    Em menus de 1 minuto você estará assistindo tv a cabo de graça em seu pc.

    http://www.tvacaboparatodos.net

  12. papy mbiola Says:

    mon telephone refuse l’ouverture de ma boite sur yahoo nokia9300

  13. Anthony Says:

    I posses Nokia 3110c but can’t get through to Yahoo mail. Does this device have this feature? If YES, what should i do?

  14. Business Phones Says:

    I found your blog searching bing for business phones blogs and came across your website. Its very interesting and I have worked in the business phones for the last 15 years. I even have my own blog dedicated 100% to phone systems! I look forward to reading more articles, and hope you would check out my blog as well. Thanks again. Cheers!

  15. International Phone Cards Online Says:

    For some reason only a quarter of the post is being displayed, is it my browser or the site?

  16. Audra McDonald Says:

    I really enjoyed this entry. Real interesting and informative

  17. Hurtigt Mobilt Bredbånd Says:

    Great, just exactly what my wife and I had to read

  18. freek181 Says:

    This may be off base, but how about changing the theme every now and then? Maybe not if it won’t look right, but I just get tired of seeing the same thing all the time. My own computer has about 1000 wallpapers that randomly rotate every 15 minutes, lol. Adult ADD I guess. Good post though, thanks.

    T. Saunderson
    Paper towel holder

  19. Mari Edrington Says:

    I appreciate you for the fantastic write-up. Together with the world cup coming around you’re beginning to come across much better discussions on sports worldwide. Continue the good work please. The internet needs it.

  20. HCG Diet Says:

    Extremely interesting. I like the way you write. Do you provide an RSS feed?

  21. Bao Lavelett Says:

    Excelente artículo! Aprendí mucho leyéndolo, gracias. Si te interesa, yo tengo un sitio web con muchas notas sobre Televisiones Baratas.

  22. Fallon Sella Says:

    Thank you ! nice article

Leave a Reply

